Thing 3: Online Identity

A more sober video from the 23 Research Things team this time around, loaded with import.

So, first job. Google my name.

Results:

  • I’m a President and CEO of a Canadian company trading in precious metals. Go me.
  • I’m a Senior Lecturer at Anglia Ruskin. Nope, not me. I just have a common name.
  • Three pages in and finally a truism – I work for Cambridge University.

After narrowing it down to my hometown:

  • Apparently, I’m dead and buried.
  • I’ve been fined £25,000 for selling illegal licence plates – nope, not me.
  • I was born on this day in 1882 – happy birthday to me!
  • And the truism?… I’ve made an objection to a proposed council plan.

Can’t say I’m too upset by this lack of information. I feel comforted that I have kept my online profile hidden from Google for so long – a nigh-on impossibility these days.

Yes, even my old myspace and hotmail accounts and my endless self-promotion of my music journalism has been done under the radar, under a pseudonym.

So, onto “Have I Been Pwned?”.

ARGH! 3 major nega-hits – MySpace in 2008, Dropbox in 2012 and LinkedIn in 2016 have all been hacked. Usernames and passwords  yoinked by ne’er-do-wells.

My plan: Remain as wary of my online presence as I have been thus far. Consider deleting that MySpace account. Definitely delete my LinkedIn account (for now). And change my Dropbox password immediately.

Next job, check out a fellow 23-er. Today, I’ve chosen Science Jazz because I like both disciplines (I’m picturing Miles Davis playing with magnets and iron filings) – https://sciencejazz.wordpress.com/

It’s a pretty little blog and I left a message to encourage the user to continue with it. Do pop along and say hi!

Ciao for now.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Good to hear that haveibeenpwned did the trick! I’ve had some nasty surprises in the past I can tell you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

