Thing 6: Documenting history

What an interesting one this one is. Gathering content and publishing it for historical purposes.

I can see how it would be useful for keeping a long-term account of initial reactions to events. Social media for real-time analysis, Storify or Scoop.It for reflective analysis.

I could potentially document gathered reaction to a music festival I’m attending next month or I could double-down and cover the to-ings and fro-ings of the forthcoming Open Cambridge conference.

The concept feels alien at the moment. Won’t the true value of any such “story” only be realised at a hypothetical point on a potential future timeline? Am I missing something? Only through engaging and creating will I ever find out.

It’s good to know it’s there, though, and I’ll definitely give it a bash if the opportunity arises.

UPDATE: Here’s a great example of Storify that I’ve just encountered – https://storify.com/CamOpenAccess/openconcam-2016

Leave a Reply

